In 1990, Dominique Wilkins of the Atlanta Hawks edged out Kenny Smith of the Sacramento Kings to win his second Slam Dunk Contest (first won in 1985 over Michael Jordan).
Did Kepler believe in heliocentric or geocentric? was newton heliocentric or geocentric.

When did Kenny Smith win dunk contest?

Still, Dominique Wilkins won the competition in 1985 over Michael Jordan in the final round and in 1990 over Kenny Smith. He came in third in the inaugural contest in 1984, lost to Spud Webb in 1986 and Michael Jordan in 1988.

Has any white guy won the dunk contest?

It wasn’t the best or most exciting by any means, but it gave us the most surprising and different winner, with rookie Brent Barry taking home the trophy. The fun fact is that he is the first and only white player ever to win the dunk contest (apologies to Blake Griffin and Zach LaVine).

Who won Dunk Contest 2020?

WINNER: Derrick Jones Jr.

Who has the most 50 point dunks?

Michael Jordan and Zach LaVine lead with with seven 50s. LaVine is the only player to got five 50s in the same contest (2016). Jordan, Josh Smith, Jason Richardson, Spud Webb, Vince Carter and Aaron Gordon have made three perfect 50 in the same contest.

Who won 2021 dunk contest?

Anfernee Simons won the 2021 Slam Dunk Contest in a showdown against Obi Toppin in the final round. Simons utilized his crazy bounce and long arms to pull off some creative dunks, and his final dunk found him almost kissing the front of the rim on his way to the win.

Who has won the most dunk contests?

Nate Robinson has won the most NBA Slam Dunk Contests in history, the former point guard claiming victory in the event on no fewer than three occasions.

Has Brent Barry remarried?

Barry graduated from Oregon State with a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology in 1995. Brent and Erin Barry were married in 1998, after being together from the time they were both in high school. They have two sons.

Where is Brent Barry?

BRENT BARRY, VICE PRESIDENT OF BASKETBALL OPERATIONS Brent joined Spurs front officein September 2018.

Who won the 1976 slam dunk contest?

January 27, 1976 – Representing the New York Nets, high-flying forward Julius Erving took home the 1976 ABA Slam Dunk championship on the heels of a showstopping takeoff and finish from the free throw line.

Who judged the dunk contest?

Dominique Wilkins, Spud Webb, Jason Richardson, Dee Brown and Josh Smith will judge this year’s NBA All-Star Dunk Contest on Sunday night. The contest, a staple of the All-Star weekend, always draws massive interest the day before the main attraction.

Did Aaron Gordon win dunk contest?

Aaron Gordon has been close to perfection in slam dunk contest but no wins to show for it. … Though he has more 50-point, perfect score dunks (eight) than any player in NBA history – more than Michael Jordan, more than Zach LaVine – Gordon stands alone as the league’s best dunker without a crown.

Who won the 2005 dunk contest?

Year Winner Team
2005 Josh Smith Hawks
2004 Fred Jones Pacers
2003 Jason Richardson Warriors
2002 Jason Richardson Warriors
Who won the 2002 dunk contest?

Year Host city Player
2000 Oakland Vince Carter
2001 Washington, D.C. Desmond Mason
2002 Philadelphia Jason Richardson
2003 Atlanta
Who was the first NBA player to dunk?

In 1944, Kurland and the Aggies were playing at Temple. When the ball fell under the basket Oklahoma A&M was attacking, Kurland picked it up, followed his instincts, and became the first player to dunk.

What does slam dunk winner mean?

If you say that something is a slam dunk, you mean that a success or victory will be easily achieved. [informal]

Who won the 2021 All-Star Game Team LeBron Vs Team Durant?

The 2021 NBA All-Star festivities concluded late Sunday night as Team LeBron defeated Team Durant 170-150.

Who is the greatest dunker of all time?

  • 9 – Jason Richardson. …
  • 8 – Blake Griffin.
  • 6 – LeBron James. …
  • 5 – Julius Erving. …
  • 4 – Kobe Bryant. …
  • 3 – Michael Jordan. …
  • 2 – Dominique Wilkins. …
  • 1 – Vince Carter.
How many dunk contests did Jason Richardson?

Two-time Slam Dunk Contest champion Jason Richardson, who played for the Warriors from 2001-2007. Jason Richardson isn’t the greatest Golden State Warrior of all time. That honor goes to Steph Curry.

Why is Brent called bones?

The younger Barry, nicknamed “Bones” by his Oregon State teammates because he carries only 185 pounds on his 6-foot-6, 185-pound frame, averaged 21 points, 3.9 assists and 2.7 steals as a senior and was one of the flashiest players in the Pac-10.

Did Brent Barry win the 3 point contest?

Nobody has ever won both. The ones that had the highest chance in my opinion in winning both had to be Jason Richardson, Ray Allen, Brent Barry and Vince Carter. Jason Richardson 2× NBA Slam Dunk Contest champion (2002, 2003) with multiple season above 40% from the 3point line.

What was Rick Barry's free throw percentage?

At the time of his retirement, Barry was the most accurate free-throw shooter in NBA history, having hit 90.0 percent of his free-throw attempts.

How many dunk contests did Vince Carter win?

Year2000WinnerVince CarterTeamToronto RaptorsLocationOakland

What is a gusto dunk Award?

1980-81 “Gusto Dunk” Award given to Julius Erving by the Joseph Schlitz Brewing Company for the 1979-80 season. Trophy features a pair of figures, one on top and one on bottom, going up for dunks. … Includes a signed LOA from Julius Erving.

Did LeBron James do dunk contest?

James didn’t participate in 2010, and over 10 years later, fans’ hopes have been all but dashed. It’s one of NBA history’s oddest conundrums, why James never touched the event that was partly made famous by his professional hero in Jordan. And it’s not like LeBron never did a dunk contest before.

Who were the judges for the dunk contest 2020?

The jam was met with gasps from the United Center crowd, but Gordon was awarded only a 47, giving the victory to Jones. Parker and Common each awarded Gordon a 10 for the dunk, with the other three judges — Dwyane Wade, Scottie Pippen and Chadwick Boseman — each giving him a 9.

Where can I watch NBA All-Star 2021 UK?

Sky Sports show coverage of the NBA season on various channels including Sky Sports Main Event and online via the SkyGo app. For those who don’t have a Sky Sports subscription, NOW TV is the next best option for watching the games. You can get a Sky Sports day pass for £9.99 or a month pass for £33.99.

Who won the 2008 slam dunk contest?

Howard walked away with 78 percent of the fan vote and was crowned Slam Dunk champion. Howard’s display at the 2008 Dunk Contest is one for the books.